Dr. Champ and All of Its Perks

I was in the midst of wondering whether there might be any fencing-related drama so I tried to browse on anything that was related with the category of ‘sport.’ In the beginning, a Hong Kong drama by the name of “Hearts of Fencing” really caught my eyes. When I watched the first four episodes though, my excitement slowly turned into boredom. As the drama progressed, its usage of fencing somehow starting to decrease, and whenever I watched some of its fencing scenes, I could only facepalm.

So I decided to move on to another drama and found Dr. Champ. A blend of medical, romance, and sport. The first protagonist was an orthopedist who got fired from her first job because she was a ‘whistleblower’ and eventually applied for a position at the Taereung National Village (a special place for training national athletes). The second protagonist was a stubborn judoka that by fate, met the doctor and from that the story started to progress.

Athletes, are different from normal people, that’s what I learnt from this drama. Throughout the drama I saw sacrifices, the blood, and the tears from practices, a coach figure they cherished very much and whom they looked up to, then comes the teammates that were like their second family as they went through all the joy and hardship. When normal people may recover from an injury for about 3 months or so, in athlete’s case it can be different.

It saddens me for the fact that these special individuals in my country aren’t very much well-facilitated, hence how their achievements compared to any other Southeast Asian countries for example, are falling behind.

Anyhow, I really recommend this drama to anyone who is a fan of sports and perhaps, medical-related stuff. Its realistic story plot is mixed with interesting characters and several plot twists, it made my heart goes dugeun-dugeun.

Oh and I found Nam Hyun Hee made a bit of appearance in a rather amusing scene.

Image

Image

Screen Shot 2014-04-26 at 4.30.26 PM

Leave a Reply

